City & County of Honolulu Elections Division - Election Info
Home > Election Info > Reapportionment


General Information

Redistricting occurs after each decennial Census to equalize and adjust the City Council district boundaries due to population changes and shifts within the City and County of Honolulu.

Council District Maps (General descriptions) New

District 1 (Leeward Coast, Kapolei, Makakilo, portion of Ewa Beach)
District 4 (Makapuu Point, Hawaii Kai, Aina Haina, Waikiki)
District 7 (Kalihi, Sand Island, Salt Lake, Hickam AFB, Ford Island)
District 2 (Mililani Mauka, Wahiawa, North Shore, Windward Coast)
District 5 (Kaimuki, Manoa, Makiki)
District 8 (Portion of Aiea, Pearl City, Crestview, Waipahu)
District 3 (Waimanalo, Kailua, Kaneohe)
District 6 (Nuuanu, Downtown, Moanalua, portion of Aiea)
District 9 (Mililani, Kunia, portion of Ewa Beach)

Shapefiles/KML New

2011 Council District Shapefile (.zip)
2011 Council District Shapefile Main islands only (zip)
Boundaries (.kmz)
Boundaries transparent (.kmz)

The GIS shapefiles and KMZ files are being made available. However, the Elections Division will not provide instruction or technical support on its use.

Final Report of the 2011 Council Reapportionment Commission 

The final report was filed with the City Clerk on December 16, 2011. It is available for viewing and download here.

Maps of the final plan are available (see Exhibit VII) in the final report.

Meeting/Agendas /Minutes

Copies of available agendas, minutes of meetings, and public testimony may be found here

Previous Draft Redistricting Plans                                        

How to provide testimony and participate in Commission meetings

The Council Reapportionment Commission has concluded its work. The commission is a temporary commission appointed by the City Council with no formal office or staff. Public testimony is no longer accepted.

Commission Members

Albi P. Mateo, Chairperson
Rey Graulty, Vice Chairperson
Rodney Y. FunakoshiC. Mike Kido
Kerry KomatsubaraJohn R. Monis
Anel Tito MontesNathan T. Okubo
Arthur Y. Park

Other Information

City Charter Reapportionment Provisions

Commission Rules

Redistricting Technical Briefing Presentation

Oahu Population Change Map 2001/2011 (c) ESRI

Population Data Sets Briefing Presentation